COVID-19 Update May 2022

Meet Kris – Rocky Bay Fitness Officer

Jun 23, 2021

Fitness Officer Kris supporting a client to access the hydro pool via a special hoist

Meet Kris Ingham, Rocky Bay’s Fitness Officer, who has been supporting our customers with their fitness for over 12 years.

Kris has a passion for fitness and supports our customers with their fitness programs at home and in their community.

Get to know a little more about Kris’s role with our Q&A!

Describe a typical day?

A normal day involves taking my customers through an exercise based program that aligns with their physical well-being goals that they have initially set with their Rocky Bay Physiotherapist.

I see my customers either at a Rocky Bay hub, or I travel to their home or a community setting, such as a gym or a local park. I also provide my customers with the resources, knowledge and support to assist them to become healthier and maintain a good quality of life independently of seeing myself.

Tell us more about your experience in your field?

I’ve been in the disability field for over 12 years (all at Rocky Bay) and have worked with customers with a wide range of diagnosis that are referred to me by their Rocky Bay Therapists.

During this time I have established great relationships with community gyms and inclusive sporting organisations that have given my customers the opportunity to participate in physical activities in a community environment.

Previous to Rocky Bay, I worked FIFO in the mining industry for four years as a Health & Lifestyle Coordinator, where I ran onsite health promotion activities and workshops for the mining staff.

What do you love most about your role? 

I love seeing the physical and emotional benefits of how regular exercise enables individuals to gain more independence, such as using a community gym independently.

My role gives me the opportunity to build up a relationship with community based health and sporting clubs, which makes the transitioning process of our customers relatively easy.

Why is the support you provide to customers so important, and how does it benefit them?

My support ensures that they are progressing and gaining the confidence to continue to improve their physical health and mobility in the long term.

Outside the one-on-one services I provide them, I also ensure that they are supported when transitioning to a community based environment like a gym or a sporting club.

What do you like to do in your free time? 

I enjoy keeping fit so I do go to the gym when I can. I’m a Dockers member so go and watch them when they are playing at home or set time aside to watch them on TV – I’m a sucker for punishment!

I’m also a bit of foodie so I enjoy trying out new restaurants and diners when I get the chance. My favourite cuisine is Italian – I love my pasta and pizza.

What are three things you can’t live without and why?

1. My wife, daughter and son – they are my motivators for working hard and providing them with a good quality of life

2. Sports (Football) – I played it from a young age until I was 33, and have been an avid fan of it my whole life

3. Coffee – Saviour for sleep deprivation since my kids have entered the world

Skip to content